It’s finally happened

There is a thing I have been waiting for and expecting my entire life. Now technically Nigel is a disabled woman with a number of diagnosis from mild cerebral palsy to high functioning aspergers. I can walk. I can wander around town for hours and try not to buy anything. I can go anywhere I want as long as the public transportation isn’t piss poor or just non-existant. I could work if, you know, there actually were jobs for anyone with a cv let alone a disabled person. Though I am in pain almost every day and have to be realistic about my limitations. I predict that one day it will get worse to the point I will actually need assistance or some sort of device (lol. Like I would ever want it in the first place.) I also predict a serious injury relating to my condition (Not caused, because as many disabled bloggers would agree and have already said I am not even disabled by my actual disability but the abelist pile of crap outside my own body. But that’s another blog.)

It happened.

I NEED support in any shoe that I will be walking in beyond my own letter box. Anything else is for sitting sitting sitting. I own a grand total of one pair of shoes with this support. I had to skip meals when I bought them. Yesterday I discovered that shoes with pathetic, disgusting or just plain non existent support will literally SHATTER the bones in my feet. These are shoes that shouldn’t even be referred to as ‘shoes’ as they completely fail the definition.

Shoes such as:

High heels (or Glorified Foot Decorations. That’s another blog post!)

Slippers

Any ‘Shoes’ that are literally just glorified slippers or decorations

I would have been less likely to break my foot in socks! I would have been less likely to break my foot in bare feet!! Because when the support is revolting my feet dick around in the shoes and end up in stupid, dangerous angles BECAUSE THERE IS NOTHING TO SUPPORT THEM!

I suppose this doesn’t help that my house is an abelist shoe box. I can no longer even get INTO it as there are stairs and stairs and stairs. Literally the only way to get to the front door. My cat will need to be moved to another house for four weeks. Any moron who knows what a cat is knows how much cats enjoy being moved. I have crutches. Thanks to disability I can’t use them. I have to spend the next four weeks sitting. Thanks to disability, I can only stand up for Jesus Christ himself. That means toilet once a day if I can actually get there. That means I don’t even want to think about what happens in an emergency.

And that’s just my huge pile of fail. There are people that don’t even know me that have to cancel plans and jump through hoops because of this.

So this is why I am a huge supporter of supportive shoes. If you think you need some, get some. If you have a child that has trouble with their feet get them now! I went for years with no support, long enough for the joints to deform and for everything to be at stupid, painful angles. This is the consequence of said deformities. Broken foot bones. And when that happens, it is only a minor problem compared to the consequences of a broken foot. If you have any kind of challenge get support.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Autistic people

No More Bleach

Exposing The Reality of Chlorine Dioxide Use For The "Treatment" Of Autism

Another angry woman

Thoughts and rants from another angry woman

Just Stimming...

A land we can share (a place I can map)

Autistic Speaks

We are awesome--not despite our differences but because of them.

Well Behaved Women Rarely Make History.

Making a scene. With lots of biscuits.

Christian Feminist Network

Exploring and connecting faith and feminism

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

By The Pin

Grabbing the grenade of life by the pin.

By Number 19

A crochet and craft blog

Dr. Rebecca Hains

Author, professor and speaker | Children's media culture, media literacy, and media criticism

SORRYIAMNOTSORRY

Never apologize for being fabulous

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

The Webcomic Overlook

Webcomic reviews are serious business.

Susan Kiernan-LEWIS

Stories that take you far and beyond

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

Tracy Todd ā€“ Brave Lotus Flower

Living life, paralysed from the neck down, out loud.

A Mother and Son's Journey

My Passionate Journey with my disABLED son from Childhood to Adulthood.

