Book Review thing: A Game of Thrones

My goal this year is to read 5 books. Today I bought the fifth one 🙂

A Game of Thrones by George R R Martin

For my third book I chose the first book in the series A Song of Ice and Fire. This is a very popular series, with a TV show based on it that is currently in its second season. This is a big series. The first book was massive.

I would put an R rating on this book for violence, language and other naughty bits. But then R-ratings make me even more interested in reading a book (save for 50 Shades of Grey. I would need to get drunk first.)

This massive book has four maps in the front.

Help! I can’t stop reading it!

Plot:

Phaaaaaaaaar. It’s a big book. End of plot section.

More?

In the main plot: After the suspicious death of the Kings Hand, the King chooses Lord Eddard Stark as the new Hand. Lord Eddard goes to work for the king and discovers dodgy plots and politics that could start a war.

I spent the whole time reading this going :O The plot is epic! There are many big surprises I didn’t expect. It’s a fantasy, with a heavy amount of murder and mystery.

I can only describe it as a very extreme episode of Shortland Street. Or maybe Coronation Street. I’ll go with Coro. That’s the kind of drama I’m talking about.

Characters:

I can’t do it!!!! T_T

There are so many colourful characters and Lords and Ladies and Houses. it was fun to read about them in the Appendix.

Eddard Stark is the Lord of Winterfell. He has a wife and kids. So along with being the Kings Hand he has other very important responsibilities, which could potentially be at risk. His family is then scattered all over the place. Through the story I really wanted to see Eddard succeed and reunite the family, but then this is a massive book and there are many more books after it O.o

But then this is a huge story that isn’t necessarily all about Eddard.

There were some characters that George Martin made me really hate! There are some pretty dark and dodgy characters here. I did not trust the Queen at all! Not even the other characters liked Viserys and I actually wanted to beat up Sansa! But maybe that was Martin’s intention.

Writing:

I’m taking notes.

George R R Martin has his own way of writing point of view. There is about a million of them in this book. This was the first time I’ve seen perspectives like this and I think it works very well for this book. Probably won’t try this in my own book because this way of writing is probably very hard to get right. It’s very witty and there is some strong language.

Martin is experienced in television production and he may have used some of that knowledge when writing this book. And then it became a TV show.

Conclusion: 5/5 I will never be happy until I read the next one! 😦

Moral of the Story: Twincest ruins everything!!! 😡

 

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Book Review thing: A Game of Thrones

  1. Sue Leov March 11, 2013 at 11:44 pm Reply

    Sounds very worth a read

Leave a Reply

Actually Autistic Blogs List

A list of blogs by Autistic people

No More Bleach

Exposing The Reality of Chlorine Dioxide Use For The "Treatment" Of Autism

Another angry woman

Thoughts and rants from another angry woman

Just Stimming...

A land we can share (a place I can map)

Autistic Speaks

We are awesome--not despite our differences but because of them.

Well Behaved Women Rarely Make History.

Making a scene. With lots of biscuits.

Christian Feminist Network

Exploring and connecting faith and feminism

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

By The Pin

Grabbing the grenade of life by the pin.

By Number 19

A crochet and craft blog

Dr. Rebecca Hains

Author, professor and speaker | Children's media culture, media literacy, and media criticism

SORRYIAMNOTSORRY

Never apologize for being fabulous

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

The Webcomic Overlook

Webcomic reviews are serious business.

Susan Kiernan-LEWIS

Stories that take you far and beyond

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

Tracy Todd – Brave Lotus Flower

Living life, paralysed from the neck down, out loud.

A Mother and Son's Journey

My Passionate Journey with my disABLED son from Childhood to Adulthood.

