What the hell happend to all these hired DVDs?

dvds

Image: Giovanni Sades / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

This probably isn’t going to be a very good post.There is something I would like to investigate.

Video hire shops. Does anyone hire DVDs and stuff from those? I am a frequent user of these.

I tried to watch one good movie I hired from one of these shops. After three hours I completely abandoned the DVD because it was downright painful to watch. Not because I hated the movie or it was bad. It was a great movie and I loved it. I abandoned it because I had only watched 50 minutes of it.

I have yet to see one DVD from these places that had something wrong with it.

I saw one hired DVD that had actually been snapped in half.

Remember the good old days of video players? I remember having to run the head cleaner through ours at least twice after each hired video if we ever wanted to play anything through it again.

And this includes not only videos and DVDs but also recent releases and blue-rays that I have seen crash after one scene and then never play again. It also includes DVDs that have no visible marks or scratches at all.

Now if I chuck in one of my own DVDs that I bought, no problems at all. Why is this??

Why is everything from video hire stores so disgusting? What is being done about it? What is being done to prevent it? It doesn’t look like the video hire shops is causing it themselves. They even look at the bottoms before giving them to you. I think its something else. What the hell is happening to these products? How do they get like that? Who wants to watch a DVD that just looks scody and old? Even when its a recent release?

What the hell?

Tagged: , , , , ,

One thought on “What the hell happend to all these hired DVDs?

  1. Brett Williams March 27, 2012 at 4:35 pm Reply

    Most video stores around me have closed shop, with the exception of an independent shop that has a couple of locations in the city. The future is renting from iTunes or getting onboard Netflix, both of which eliminate those pesky ruined disks.

Leave a Reply

No More Bleach

Exposing The Reality of Chlorine Dioxide Use For The "Treatment" Of Autism

Another angry woman

Thoughts and rants from another angry woman

Just Stimming...

A land we can share (a place I can map)

Autistic Speaks

We are awesome--not despite our differences but because of them.

Well Behaved Women Rarely Make History.

Making a scene. With lots of biscuits.

Christian Feminist Network

Exploring and connecting faith and feminism

Barbara Briggs Designs

One-of-a-Kind Art Jewelry and Wearable Art

By The Pin

Grabbing the grenade of life by the pin.

By Number 19

A crochet and craft blog

Dr. Rebecca Hains

Author, professor and speaker | Children's media culture, media literacy, and media criticism

SORRYIAMNOTSORRY

Never apologize for being fabulous

Nail Your Novel

Nail Your Novel - Writing, publishing and self-publishing advice from a bestselling ghostwriter and book doctor

The Webcomic Overlook

Webcomic reviews are serious business.

Susan Kiernan-Lewis

Books that Take You to the Edge

David Gaughran

Let's Get Digital

Reel Girl

Imagining gender equality in the fantasy world

Tracy Todd – Brave Lotus Flower

Living life, paralysed from the neck down, out loud.

A Mother and Son's Journey

My Passionate Journey with my disABLED son from Childhood to Adulthood.

tom.basson

healthy (body+mind+spirit) = healthy soul

